Low-Carb “Gnocchi”

keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-foodHave you ever ran 3 miles in the pouring rain?  I haven’t either until today.  Normally for me, 3 miles is meant to be a quick 30 min run, in and out.  Today, those miles weren’t quick nor easy.  It was a struggle once I got past the second mile.  I was cold, very wet and somewhat hungry.  The only thing that kept pushing me to keep on going was knowing as soon as I finished, I would get to come home and make this recipe.

Boy was I disappointed.  For the amount of work and elbow grease that I had to put in, my yield was fairly small.  I barely had a bowl full.  Also with each bite I took, I felt like I was eating a forkful of mozzarella sticks.  Not the warm, soft “potato pillows” I was expecting.  I ended up eating half a bowl for lunch to conquer my “post run hunger”.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt so physically full from eating such a small amount of food.  This definitely won’t be going into my weekly meal rotation.

keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-food

But any who, if you try this recipe out please let us know what you think.  I’m curious to read what other people think of this dish.

xo – Kristin

Low Carb “Gnocchi”

adapted from the Primitive Palate

Ingredients

  • 2 cups shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic
  • butter & olive oil for sautéing
Method:

First, place cheese and granulated garlic into a microwave safe bowl and toss around to combine.  Melt cheese in the microwave for about one to two minutes (or until the cheese has melted).  Then fold in one egg yolk at a time until a homogeneous dough forms.  Keep doing it until the cheese and egg yolk completely combine with one another.

                       

Then portion the dough into 3 or 4 equal size balls.  After that stick them into the fridge to chill for at least 10 minutes.  Once the balls of dough have chilled, roll out each ball into a 12 inch log on a lightly greased parchment (to keep from sticking).  Slice each log into one inch pieces (I even took a fork to give the pieces that gnocchi look).

keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-food         keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-foodIn a large pot, bring about a half gallon of salted water to a boil (like you would for normal pasta). Place all the gnocchi into the pot and cook until they float, about 2-3 minutes. Then strain into a colander.  While the water is boiling, heat a large pan on medium-high heat. Add a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of oil to pan.  Add the gnocchi and sauté each side for one to two minutes or golden brown.

keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-food

I added marinara sauce to mine, but feel free to add any sauce you see fit.

keto-low-carb-pasta-comfort-food

3 thoughts on “Low-Carb “Gnocchi”

Leave a comment